Robert H. Shaffer Award for Academic Excellence as a Graduate Faculty Member

Supporting the Profession New Professionals and Graduate Students Faculty
Award Type: national

Established in 1986, this award, named for a Dean and Professor Emeritus at Indiana University, is presented to a tenured, full-time faculty member in a graduate preparation program in student affairs.  Each Robert H. Shaffer Award recipient has inspired graduate students and served on doctoral dissertation committees; has a distinguished record of scholarly achievement, including publication in relevant literature; and has made significant contributions to professional associations.

Nominations have closed for the 2024 Robert H. Shaffer Award for Academic Excellence as a Graduate Faculty Member. The application for 2025 will open in August of 2024.


2024 Current Recipient

Award Criteria


  • Responsibility for teaching graduate or professional school students who generally pursue careers in higher education administration and student affairs
  • Consistent and excellent mentorship of graduate students, several of whom have moved into responsible positions in higher education or student affairs
  • Solid record of scholarly achievement in appropriate journals and publications
  • Active individual NASPA membership


  • Significant contributions to professional associations

Past Recipients


2015 | Thomas Miller
2014 | Marilyn Amey 
2013 | Deborah J. Taub 
2012 | Shaun Harper
2011 | Jan L. Arminio 
2010 | Susan R. Jones
2009 | Raechele L. Pope 
2008 | Joan B. Hirt 
2007 | Mary Howard-Hamilton

2006 | John H. Schuh 
2005 | Dudley B. Woodard, Jr. 
2004 | Susan R. Komives
2003 | Terry Williams 
2002 | Marcia Baxter Magolda 
2001 | Daniel Robinson 
1999 | Karen D. Arnold
1998 | Don Creamer
1997 | Albert B. Hood 

1996 | Larry H. Ebbers
1995 | Patricia M. King 
1994 | George D. Kuh 
1993 | Robert D. Brown 
1992 | Theodore Miller; Esther M. Llyod Jones*
1990 | Donald Gehring
1989 | Gerald L. Saddlemire 
1988 | Melvene D. Hardee 
1987 | Louis Stamatakos